28 November 2018

Winners of 2020 TWAS Prizes announced

TWAS has announced the winners of the TWAS Prizes for 2020 at the Academy's 28th General Conference and 14th General Meeting in Trieste, Italy.

TWAS Prizes are awarded in nine fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Social Sciences. There are 13 prize winners: four from China and one from Taiwan, China; three from Argentina; one from India; one from Iran Islamic Republic; one from Malaysia; one from Nigeria and one from South Africa. The prize winners include one woman.

Each TWAS Prize carries a cash award of USD15,000. The winners will lecture about their research at TWAS's 29th General Meeting, when they will also receive a plaque and the prize money.

Agricultural Sciences

  • Esteban Gabriel JOBBAGY of Argentina, for his insight into the reciprocal interactions between vegetation, soil and hydrology and related applications in managed ecosystems of the South American plains.


  • Hossein BAHARVAND of Iran Isl. Rep., for his fundamental contribution to the understanding of how pluripotency and differentiation establish and maintain in stem cells.


  • TANG Zhiyong of China, for his contribution to developments of methods and theory for controllable synthesis and self-assembly of nanoparticles.

Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences

  • CAO Junji of China, for his seminal work on aerosols, air quality and earth environmental sciences.

Engineering Science (shared)

  • Ahmad Fauzi ISMAIL of Malaysia, for his outstanding contributions in the area of membrane technology and nanotechnology for desalination, wastewater treatment, gas separation and hemodialysis.
  • Noemi Elisabet ZARITZKY of Argentina, for her fundamental contribution to the understanding of food and environmental engineering problems.

Mathematics (shared)

  • TANG Zizhou of China, for his fundamental contributions to differential geometry, including outstanding works in isoparametric theory, and harmonic maps.
  • Dipendra PRASAD of India, for his fundamental contributions to branching laws of classical groups over local and global fields through what has been called the Gan-Gross-Prasad conjectures.

Medical Sciences (shared)

  • Alejandro Fabian SCHINDER of Argentina, for his fundamental contribution to the understanding of development, integration and function of newly generated neurons in the adult brain.
  • Robert Peter MILLAR of South Africa, for his fundamental and translational contributions in the field of neuroendocrinology leading to the development of new treatments for hormone-dependent diseases.


  • CHEN Xianhui of China, for his seminal contributions to the exploration of quantum materials, especially for the discovery of superconductivity above 40K in Fe-based superconductors.

Social Sciences (shared)

  • JUAN Chi-Hung of Taiwan, China, for his contribution to our understanding of psychological mechanisms of cognitive control and new discoveries in relevant interventional methods.
  • Ayodele Samuel JEGEDE of Nigeria, for his work in the areas of medical sociology, anthropology and bioethics.
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.